China – Emission Control Area extended to eleven key ports

4 January 2017

Members will already be aware of the Regulations concerning the sulphur content of fuel to be used by vessels at certain times during berthing in specified Emission Control Areas (ECA), Shanghai, Ningbo–Zhoushan, Suzhou and Nantong, as outlined in the Club’s previous News Alerts (click here).

As advised by the Correspondent, Huatai Insurance Agency & Consultant Service Limited, from 1 January 2017 onwards, the requirement to use fuel oil with a sulphur content not exceeding 0.5%mm when berthing has been extended to the ports of Tianjin, Qinhuangdao, Tangshan, Huanghua, Guangzhou and Zhuhai. Together with Shenzhen port, which was added to ECA as of 1 October 2016, this brings the number of key ports in the ECA to eleven. 

A summary of ECA areas and the relevant “berthing” period, or time during which low sulphur fuel needs to be used, is set out in the Correspondent’s Circular which can be accessed by clicking here. This also includes information on the next stages in the ECA, 1 January 2018 onwards, where low sulphur fuel should be used throughout the whole berthing period.

Members should review their bunkering and fuel changeover arrangements to ensure compliance with these Regulations. In particular, Members should ensure that documentary records are in order (as local authorities may inspect them) and fuel samples are kept (as appropriate) to avoid delays and penalties being imposed.